RSS

Being thankful

06 Feb

Hi again,

Today I had a good reminder of a lesson I seem to sometimes forget when things get really tough. That lesson is being thankful in everything. We can’t choose our circumstances but we can choose our attitude. It would sure be wonderful to be able to choose our circumstances but we would likely choose an easy life with no bad stuff which seems great but it wouldn’t do us any good. I know I would like to at least minimize the bad stuff that happens in my life and sometimes it seems that it would be easier to have a thankful heart. But as I learned years ago, if we didn’t deal with bad circumstances-we would be much less thankful for the good times. It is the same with weather – don’t you find yourself much more thankful for sunshine after it has been stormy? Also we grow during the bad times or the valleys of life. So today I just want to share a few things I am thankful for if you don’t mind and maybe it will help bring some blessings to mind in your own life. 🙂

I am thankful for the very mild winter we have had and how it has often seemed more like spring than winter. It has been so nice to be able to go outside and not feel like a human popsicle as soon as I open the door. Of course we have had a few times where winter seems to come back which reminds me to not take the mild weather for granted.

I am thankful for a warm house, running water, a roof over my head, clothes on my back and food in my stomach. I have all my needs met which I am so very thankful for. There are so many around the world that do not have these basic needs met.

I am thankful that I can get injections for my back so that I do not have to deal with such a high level of pain. Having to wait longer this time has reminded me what it is like without them and to be more thankful for my circumstances no matter how limited my life becomes because of them-it can always be worse.

I am thankful for my relationship with God – that I know Him personally and He loves me, and not as some sort of impersonal judge who is quick to punish anyone who does wrong.

I am very thankful for my cat who lays with me on the days I can not be up and doing stuff. Sometimes I think he might actually believe I am keeping him company and not the other way around. lol On days my body lets me do stuff, I am moving around a lot more so my cat tries to follow me around but gets annoyed with me and finally just lays down somewhere to fall asleep. He is really sweet and has been a wonderful companion – I hope he continues to be with me for many years yet!

Of course I could continue but I will stop here and maybe share some more at another time. It is important to choose to see the blessings in our lives. I wish I could say that I do this all the time but I am human and I slip up every so often. Focusing on the positive lifts my mood because life doesn’t seem quite so bad and I imagine it works the same for others too. I know how hard it can be to see the positive in your life when everything seems to go wrong and your life is falling to pieces around you but it is possible. There is a quote which I think is from Theodore Roosevelt that comes to mind “Nothing worth doing is ever easy” Counting your blessings may be very difficult sometimes but it is worth it. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 6, 2012 in Randomness

 

Leave a Reply

 
