RSS

A Few Of My Favorite Things

27 May

Hello again,

First I would like to share a bit of an update of how I am doing. The past few days have been rather difficult physically because the pain has increased each day despite painkillers. It seems as though the bottom half of the broken rod is shifting a bit and causing more pain as a result. The pain is coming around from my back along my ribs to the front and causing pain when I breathe. I have been able to manage to be up for a few minutes at a time here and there though. I do not share this for people to feel sorry for me though because I don’t want that-I am perfectly capable of that myself if I want that. I just want to share what I am facing and how I am doing. But it isn’t all bad though. 🙂 Last night I managed to sit up for the whole supper meal which is about 45 minutes. We watched part of the movie The Help as well so it was quite enjoyable. Right now I am writing this post in a sitting position and this morning the pain was significantly reduced for what ever reason. I still had to stay laying down but just to have such relief even while laying down was amazing! It is one day short of a week since the rod broke and it is funny how much my plans have changed. Not just for this week but for the entire summer. In some ways it is sad but all in all it’s ok. 🙂

Now I would like to move on to sharing about a few of my favorite things. A pastor I know, who is a friend of mine, shared with me how important it is to be positive and I completely agree. I think that no matter how tough life gets-there is always something to be thankful for and I would like to share some with you which are also favorite things.Maybe my list would inspire you to create your own list. 🙂

1. My Cat Felix – He isn’t really a thing but he sure fits on this list! He would also be upset if I didn’t put him first. lol He is the most amazing cat and every day that I have a bad day, he is by my side. This whole week that I have been immobile, he has been right here with me on my bed. He makes me smile so much.

2.My family – my family are not things either but they are very important to me and have provided so much support to me-especially during the past 5 yrs. After my first and second surgeries, my mom has done things like helping me change and putting on my shoes for me. My dad has pushed me in a wheel chair when I was unable to walk yet. My sister has helped me when I have dropped something and could not bend down to pick it up. My family helped me by carrying things like a plate of food when I was too weak still to lift much. With each surgery my back muscles are cut and I am incredibly weak for a while and that is why I need so much help each time. My family has helped me so much and I am eternally grateful for their sacrifices, help and support.

3. Sunshine and sunsets – it seems so small but is so big when you are having a rough day. I love sunsets because it is a reminder that I have made it through another day. It is also a bit of a reward for making it through as well. Sunshine just makes me smile. Even on days I am stuck inside I still enjoy seeing it stream through my window.

4. Dessert – yes I love dessert and chocolate dessert is ALWAYS a favorite! lol Dessert puts a smile on my face every time. 🙂

5.My Gadgets – my gadgets consist of a Kindle, laptop and mp3 player. I won the kindle through a site called bzzagent because of a blog post I submitted which is actually on here. It’s titled Where Life Takes Us. I love my kindle because it enables me to take almost 1000 books with me where ever I take it, so I always have a choice of what to read. I got my laptop mostly with money I made doing surveys while I haven’t been able to work. 🙂 I love it so much and it makes it possible to write blog posts and surf the internet while being stuck in bed. My life is much less boring now. lol Lastly, I love my mp3 player because I love music and I can take that music anywhere. Life without music would be horrible.

I have many more favorite things (like Pinterest) but I will save them for another day. 🙂 I just wanted to share a small list of what I love with anyone reading this.  When life gets me down I try to think about what makes me smile. If I can do that, it “turns my frown upside down.”  Have you thought about What makes you smile lately?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “A Few Of My Favorite Things

  1. Cheryl Babiak

    May 27, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    Your an amazing young lady with a great out look on life,,we can learn so much from you,,,,when and where will your surgery be? .??.?.

     
    • heatherv11

      May 28, 2012 at 5:11 pm

      Thanks for your very kind words! My surgery will be on Thursday in Edmonton. coming up very quickly!

       
  2. click

    June 3, 2012 at 3:09 am

    It looks to me that this site doesnt load on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks having the same issue? I like this blog and dont want to have to skip it when Im gone from my computer.

     

Leave a Reply

 
