RSS

A day of Outings and Reflection

28 May

Hello again,

Wow today has been such a long day! Today I had to see my doctor, stop at a grocery store for a couple things and I had to visit the Lending Cupboard as well to get the medical aids that I will need after surgery.I would like to take a quick moment and mention how wonderful the Lending Cupboard is-they supply people with wheel chairs, crutches, bath aids etc to anyone who needs it for free. You can keep it as long as you need it and then  return it when you are finished with it. They are amazing! I am so very grateful to them for their help.

Today the doctor visit was to make sure that I am fit for surgery along with paperwork that i needed him to fill out for the surgery. Since it is such short notice, I was told to just go to the walk-in clinic. We live close to Sylvan Lake, we decided to go there because the wait time is usually much shorter, although today they were actually busy! So 2hrs later, my mom and I finally walked out of the walk-in clinic. Somehow my back did ok, but I suppose it could have something to do with taking a full dose of the painkillers that I have. lol I have been taking half doses because the side effects are somewhat nasty. Though for today I needed the pain under control, so I took the full dose. The side effects were a small price to pay for the ability to make it through the doctor’s visit and a visit to the Lending Cupboard. Although now my back is in pretty bad shape again… But I got through the day!!!

Today is exactly one week from the day that my rod broke and it is also the first day I have been out of the house since being in the hospital last week Tuesday. I guess I am thinking alot about how quickly plans and life can change. Last Monday morning I never guessed I would be getting ready for surgery in a week. I never would have thought I would have to drastically alter plans I had for this summer either. I was planning to go camping this year for the first time in years because I was finally at a point that I could hopefully manage. Maybe this happened because I am not supposed to go camping! lol It seems as though in just a few moments my entire summer plans changed. I know this isn’t unique to me and it happens to everyone that plans change but it just got me thinking about stuff. For me, this is a reminder of how important it is to live each day as fully as we can and enjoy each day, because we really do not know what will happen that can change everything so suddenly. Don’t leave something till “later” or “tomorrow” because you don’t know what tomorrow holds.

Lastly, I want to mention a song I heard this morning which always seems to play when I need to hear it. The song is called Blessings by Laura Story. It was a great reminder this morning of how blessings can come out of something that is (or seems) bad.  I actually have the lyrics hanging on my wall by my computer because I find the song lyrics so powerful and a good reminder when things are not going well. I would like to leave you with the link (below) to the youtube video of this song today because the lyrics are very helpful to me and hopefully to you as well. 🙂

Blessings By Laura Story

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “A day of Outings and Reflection

  1. click

    June 5, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    I had been wondering if you ever thought of adjusting the design of your blog? It is well written; I enjoy what youve got to say. But maybe you could include a little more in the way of content so people might connect to it better. You have got a great deal of text for only having one or two photos. Maybe you could space it out better?

     

Leave a Reply

 
