RSS

3 weeks ago today

20 Jun

Hello again,

Three weeks ago today I had surgery and was laying in a hospital bed unable to move anything but my arms,legs and head. I could not turn myself on my side or sit up. I hate that part because sometimes you feel you are not laying quite straight and you want to nudge your bum over or tilt your back a bit one way but you can’t. The butt is a dead weight almost and my muscles in my back do not work. As much as I will myself to move my back, it just stays put and if I do move it a bit then the pain is excruciating. It is the most helpless feeling I have ever felt and I am happy that it only lasted about one day for this last surgery. 🙂 But that is the position I was in exactly 3 weeks ago today.

The progress I have made with recovery this time around is actually almost unbelievable for me, let alone other people. I remember the first surgery how long it took to make any progress at all and often looking back on the week it was difficult to see much progress – if any. I had to look back each month to see visible progress. With the second surgery it was quicker and I could see some progress each week and with this surgery I have seen progress each day. It isn’t that I am getting better at going through the surgeries but just that the second and third surgeries have been much simpler and less invasive. I was expecting recovery much like I had with the second surgery but I am very happy this one is going much quicker. I find it so hard to believe that I had surgery 3 weeks ago! I feel that I have made similar progress in 3 weeks as I had in 2 months with the last surgery! This is really wonderful.

It took me about a year to recover from the last surgery so I am hoping maybe it will take half that or less this time around. The problem with the last surgery is that I never completely recovered in the sense that I continued to face complications that have left me unable to work or move out. No matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t sit up for more than a couple of hours at a time. That is why I have been in recovery mode technically for the past 4 yrs. I hope that this time around is different and I can finally move on with my life and start a new chapter so to speak. 🙂

Today I was able to cut back more on the painkillers I am taking which is wonderful because that means less side effects to deal with. The painkillers make me sick, so I have not had much of an appetite and sometimes it has been difficult to eat anything at all. Today I felt like I actually wanted food which is nice. 🙂 I actually ate chocolate and enjoyed it! I hate to admit it but I haven’t had much of an appetite for chocolate. *shocked face* Anyone that knows me would know that isn’t me. LOL I am also going outside more as well. The downside to taking fewer painkillers though is that I am feeling pain sooner and I can not do as much as I would with more drugs in my system. Yesterday I was having a really hard time with that because it feels like I am not making progress. Yet I have to remind myself that I am taking fewer drugs which is progress in itself. I am trying to keep from pushing myself too hard but that is a work in progress. 🙂 Taking fewer painkillers does help with not overdoing it as much because I have to lay down sooner which means I am less likely to damage something. I have already pulled at least one muscle in my back which I can feel more now that the painkillers are not hiding the pain so much. But I am getting down on the ground and taking pictures again. 🙂 I will post a photo on the bottom of this post that I took the other day. 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to read what I write-it means a lot to me. 🙂

An Iris I took a photo of in our flower bed

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “3 weeks ago today

  1. siberian husky

    July 19, 2012 at 12:52 pm

    Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

     
  2. my sibe

    July 20, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    This blog has inspired me to continue working on my own blog

     

Leave a Reply

 
