RSS

Highlights of the past week

15 Jul

Hello again,

I don’t normally share highlights of my week but this past week was rather eventful and I wanted to share about them even though the week has now past.

The first highlight that is probably the biggest and best part of my week happened last Monday. My sister and her family started their camping trip at Jarvis bay in Sylvan Lake last week and on Monday night we all got together for a campfire bbq. It was a lot of fun and sort of helped me feel less sad about missing out on camping this year. Before my rod broke, I had plans to go camping finally this summer because I haven’t been able to for quite a few years now due to my back. But there is always next year right?! We had a lot of fun being together last Monday and the weather was really wonderful as well. I almost wasn’t able to go because my back has been so bad lately so I am extremely grateful I was able to go. 🙂 I thought it would be fun to share a few photos of the evening with you. 🙂 If you click on any one of the photos, it will bring them up a bit larger.

The next highlight of my week happened on Wednesday. I took my first real trip into town on my own getting groceries and what not. The trip the week before was just something quick to see how it went. It was so nice to get out and run errands even if I am still quite limited in how long I can spend in each store. It is kind of funny how much I start to miss even the mundane things like errands when I have been stuck at home so much recovering.

Another great part of last week was the heat that finally found us! I really enjoyed the sunshine but I also loved the shade too. 🙂 My mom and I took walks to the mail box because the weather was wonderful and it was great for me to get a bit of exercise as well. Mornings that I was able to go outside on the veranda to eat breakfast were fun and I loved listening to the birds singing away. This week doesn’t look as sunny as last week but that is ok too. 🙂 We need the rain as well as the sun.

I should admit it hasn’t been all wonderful this week as I have been dealing with a lot of pain physically but I can still have fun despite the pain I am dealing with. This past week was definitely a lot more fun than I have had for a while. The past several weeks have been somewhat boring in terms of excitement and this week I got to have some fun. I wasn’t going to let my back get in the way of that. I suppose that is one of the best lessons I have learned while dealing with chronic pain is that just because we are in pain does not mean we have to be miserable. I admit some days it is definitely hard but I try not to let the pain ruin my day (although sometimes it does get the best of me). We only get to live each day once and I want to make the most of each day the best that I can. 🙂

Before I go, I want to thank you for taking the time to read my blog post and I hope you enjoyed it. I hope you have a great week!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
