RSS

Goodreads Book Challenge

23 Mar

Hello again,

I am a member of Goodreads and I love the site. This year I noticed they had a book challenge where you can enter in a goal of how many books you want to read in a year and then they keep track and you can watch your progress. You do need to be sure that you click that you are reading the book currently and then say you finished the book for it to count. It tracks your progress of how many books you have read and how many books you are ahead or behind. It is actually quite neat. It also keeps track of how many pages you have read as well. 🙂

Originally I thought I would make a goal of 100 books until I realized that meant I had to read through a whole book every 3.65 days. lol that isn’t happening. So I chose to have a goal of 75 books in one year which means I have almost 5 days to read each book. That is much more doable. 🙂 I am 3 books ahead currently. I have finished 19 books since the beginning of the year. Except on my challenge it says I have read 20 books because I accidentally got one of the Harry Potter books on there twice by accident. So I raised my challenge to 76 books to make up for it. lol

Someone I know suggested that I should do mini reviews of the books I read and post on my blog which sounds like a neat idea that I can combine with this challenge. I can share what I think of each book, how I am doing on my book challenge and what I learn from them. I love reading and learning new things and it doesn’t really matter what it is about as long as it is something I didn’t know before. Any topic is interesting to me. which can make my list of books I want to read very long! lol

As I stated above, I have completed 19 books so far. The books I have read are: Expressive photography, The Applause of Heaven, Why do Cats Bury their poop (I found this filled with inaccurate facts), Chicken Soup for the Soul My Cat’s life, The Northern Gardener (an exceptional gardening book!), If you want to Walk on Water you have to get out of the boat, Lois Hole’s Tomato Favorites, Waking the Dead, Kitchens: The Smart approach to Kitchen Design, Kitchen Ideas that Work, Vegetable Gardening for Alberta Saskatchewan and Manitoba, Tomatoland (an eye-opening read!), and all 7 Harry Potter books. 🙂 I might write another post on what I thought of the books I have already finished but I will leave that for another post because it would make this one too long. So if you enjoy books as much as I do and you are curious about what I think of the books I read, you can follow me here and on my goodreads page as well. 🙂 Thanks for reading my blog!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
