RSS

You Matter

22 Feb

Hello again.

You matter. Two very simple yet powerful words when put together. You, the person reading these words, you matter. I may not know you personally or what you are going through but I know that you matter. We all do. Whether you have anyone around you that recognizes that or not doesn’t change your value. Whether you contribute to society or not, you matter. Whether you are disabled, healthy, smart, productive, a millionaire or barely scraping by… you matter.

This is a terribly personal post because this is something I struggle with deeply. I look at myself and how little I am able to contribute and I feel like I don’t matter. I tend to base my worth on what I can or can’t accomplish and because of that, I struggle to see that I matter. Someone I know, recently said those words to me and I think they meant it and I realized just how much it means to me when someone tells me that I do matter. I have value. I would be missed if I died. I broke down in tears hearing those simple words. This person did not say “you matter to me” because that isn’t the point. What meant so much to me was that I matter. period. I have value. I am tearing up thinking about it. So I am sharing this with anyone who is reading this. You matter as well. Whether you have won a nobel prize or you’re just a regular joe, you matter.

I truly mean these words that I am writing. If you would walk up to me on the street and ask me if you matter, I would say yes and I would mean it. You may feel unlovable, worthless, not good enough or useless and the world would be better without you in it but it isn’t true. You may have someone telling you that you are worthless or maybe stupid but that is their opinion and the truth is they don’t know what they are talking about and you do matter. You may be thinking “well you don’t know me…” You may have done things that you are not proud of and wish you could undo but it doesn’t change the fact that you matter and you have value. We have all done things we are not proud of, including the people who you admire and you think matter more than you. How do I know this? Because I struggle with this and I am learning this myself. We are all put here for a reason. If we are put here for a reason, that means that we matter. Just because society places more importance on one person than another doesn’t mean that they matter any more than you do. What society places value on can be a bit messed up. Whether you have no friends or a thousand friends changes nothing when it comes to how much you matter. You have value whether a single person sees it or not.

I do not know if this post has been helpful or not but I hope it has. I know that I am not the only one that struggles with feelings of being worthless or not good enough. I have a feeling that it may be more common than we realize. So that is why I am writing this post – to share something I struggle with and I think other people may also be struggling with secretly. Thanks for taking time to read my blog. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
