RSS

Catching Up

29 May

Hello again,
Do you ever have that feeling that the more you try to get done, the farther behind you seem to get? Or no matter how much you manage to get done, you fail to get caught up? You feel overwhelmed by all the tasks that you need to get done and there never seems to be enough time. That has been pretty much how I have felt for about the past month. I should admit that it isn’t that I am constantly on the go even though I wish I could be. My back limits the amount of time I can be up and get stuff done and it makes life interesting. But I won’t get in to that right now because that isn’t necessarily the focus of this post. Today I want to actually catch up on what has happened in my life lately. I have had a few times in the past month where I would have liked to post something but didn’t find the time to do so. So today I am going to give a bit of a recap if you will. 🙂 I won’t go too in-depth but I want to touch on stuff that has happened. 🙂

Since I have basically been MIA since the last part of April, I will start there. I believe I had written about the vole damage pretty much last. If you read that post, you may be wondering what has gone on with that. At the time that I wrote the post, I was still feeling pretty shocked and in disbelief about the whole thing. We approached a lot of “professionals” about the whole thing and some actually said that there was no chance of anything coming back and all we could do is chop it all down. Some professionals said to wait. We felt we should wait and my friends who are not considered professionals advised the same thing. Well it turns out that not all professionals know what they are talking about because a large amount of the trees didn’t know they were supposed to be dead and are actually doing good. 🙂 It goes to show that sometimes professionals do not get it right. We have tried different stuff and hoping for the best. Don’t laugh but right now a few actually have gauze wrapped around their trunks and it seems to be helpful. lol My mom and I had a few laughs about literally bandaging up our trees. The reasoning behind the idea is that bark breaths and it also works to keep the trunk cool and I thought fabric or gauze was the closest thing we had. We started with electrical tape to protect the trunks temporarily and the jury is still out on whether that had helped. It is a long story how we came to wrapping gauze around the trunk and I may share more at another time. But so far, at least half have survived and some are flowering. 🙂

A couple of weeks ago, I managed to get my hair cut again by the same lady I mentioned in an earlier post. She is amazing at what she does. I decided to go super short out of necessity more than anything else. It has been absolutely amazing because I wash my hair and comb it in like 5 minutes. It dries super fast as well. Sometimes I do miss my hair but most of the time I really appreciate having more time for other things. With the pain level I deal with in my back, it is hard to manage simple tasks sometimes so I have to simplify things where I can. I wish I had chopped off my hair for my surgeries as well. My goodness it would have saved me so much pain and trouble. I am not sure if I will keep my hair short or not when/if my back improves. I like how easy my hair is to care for now. Another benefit is when it rains and my hair gets wet from being outside, it takes so little time to dry again. 🙂

On May 17, I got to go to my very first concert because I won tickets to go. 🙂 I got to see Steven Curtis Chapman and even got a meet and greet after because that was part of the tickets that I won. I don’t think I am really a fan of concerts though as I found it extremely loud but it is nothing against Steven Curtis Chapman. As far as I understand, it is normal that they are so loud. But I love his music and it was so fun to do something exciting for a change. 🙂 When I met him, I didn’t say much because I was in so much pain with my back and had to get home. I got a photo with him and I got his cd as well which I really wanted. 🙂 His songs are very good. I find they are quite helpful when I am feeling low and dealing with a lot of pain. They tend to lift me up a bit and remind me of stuff.

I think that is most of the excitement I have had over the past month. I have been reviewing a product from Broadway Nails as well but I will put that in another post since it will be a review and deserves its own post. That has provided some excitement as well. 🙂 I love trying and reviewing products. It is quite fun even if the product doesn’t work for me. Of course I have been busy with growing my flowers and other plants from seed and would love to share photos in the near future of how far they have come. Growing flowers from seed is always fun. Thanks for reading my blog. I really appreciate it!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 29, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
