RSS

Influenster Review: Impress Manicure

29 May

Hello again,
Earlier this year, I joined up with Influenster which is another company that has members qualify for and try products to review. Earlier this month, I received my first “voxbox” to try and review. It is from Broadway Nails and it is called the Impress Press on Manicure. I received 2 different colours to try free from Influenster. I would like to share my review here now.

First, I would like to share a couple of links. I needed to do a YouTube video for the influenster review. This is the first time I have ever recorded myself for YouTube and had no idea what I was doing. lol It turned out not too bad but I think I was talking way too slow so it is a bit long. I recorded my first impressions and the process of putting the nails on. You can check it out here: Voxbox Impress manicure video review. I also posted a photo on instagram which you can see here: #impressmanicure instagram photo. If you look on the photo, you can sort of see that I had to place the nails up a bit higher to cover the ends of my natural nails which left a gap at the bottom of my nail that wasn’t covered. You probably can’t notice in the photo but my natural nail on thumb and pointer finger was still a tad longer the impress nail as well.

I got the impress nails a couple of weeks ago and waited until I figured out a way to take video while putting them on. That was a bit of a challenge and I ended up finding a way to attach my phone to my mini tripod to take the video. I noticed right away that my natural nails were too long and I had to cut them down as far as I could. I was kind of sad about this because I really love using my nails to pick things up and open stuff. Despite cutting down my nails, the impress nails were still a tad too short. That is probably my biggest issue with them. Otherwise they are really nice. Finding the right sizes for my fingers is a bit tricky because it is difficult to tell the different nail sizes just by looking at them. I also seem to have huge hands and the biggest nail was a bit small for my thumb still. But I did find the sizes that fit the best and that was the most time-consuming part of it all. Applying them to my natural nails was very easy and quick. It was nice not having to wait for anything to dry. My initial thoughts were quite positive.

After wearing them for a few hours, I noticed that it was impossible to pick anything up that I previously used my natural nails for. For example, picking a plastic ruler up off the table proved to be an interesting challenge. lol I had to get creative and eventually picked it up. lol I also noticed that some of the nails didn’t stick down flat against my natural nail. This provided a space for gunk to accumulate. I have a feeling that it happened because my natural nails are too big for the size of nails that the manicure set has. Other than these issues, they stuck really well and seemed to stay on through out different activities. They even lasted through hair washing. 🙂

After 4 days, I lost a couple of nails. It was the pointer fingers that I use the most for stuff. They also had a fair bit of gunk that got stuck underneath and that was gross. I hope this isn’t TMI for the blog. I decided to take the rest off as well since it looks funny without a whole set. Some of them were not very stuck any longer and probably would have come off that day as well. I was also getting frustrated with having no nails to pick anything up with. I honestly use them for a ton of stuff. I think if the nails had been longer, it would have been different though. I probably would have really loved them if they could have been just a bit longer.

Since my mom has smaller nails, she was able to try the ones that didn’t fit my nails. It actually worked out pretty much perfectly in terms of the sizes included and the sizes we both needed. But for her, they started falling off within a few hours and within a couple of days they had all fallen off. She even lost one while putting dishes in the dishwasher. lol She has nails that seem to resist everything though so we both were not entirely surprised. I am not sure this is a reflection on the product so much as my mom’s nails are rather resistant to anything she puts on to them. I don’t think it is her fault either. It is just one of those things I suppose.

Overall, my impression of the Impress manicure from Broadway Nails is mixed. I think they go on easily enough and last fairly well on my fingers but they are too short. I normally avoid the whole fake nail market because the nails are too long. lol These nails look more natural which is so nice. If my nails were smaller or they were a tad bigger, I think it would have been great. 🙂 So would I recommend them to other people? Probably. Depending of course on how big their natural nails are. Would I use them again? Probably not. Just because they are too short and don’t last incredibly long on my nails. I hope this is helpful to you and thank you for reading my blog!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 29, 2014 in Review

 

Leave a Reply

 
