RSS

Grey Hairs

10 Sep

Hi again,

Today I want to discuss a topic that has been on my mind lately. Grey hair… or hairs I suppose. I have grey hair already. Not a full head of grey hair but a fairly substantial amount is turning grey. It started after my first back surgery back in 2007. Apparently the stress that my body was under started turning my hair prematurely grey. I don’t know if that is correct or not but it makes sense. I recently saw an episode of Dr. Quinn where someone tried dying their grey hair and which caused me to think about grey hair a bit more. I also saw someone today that has let her hair go grey this year and I thought she looked great which got me thinking even more about it. My thoughts are about whether it is a bad thing to have grey hair visible? At my age?

I was only 24 when I started getting grey hair if I am doing correct math. I don’t care if you know my age. I am not someone who is ashamed of my age or needs to keep it secret. At least not yet. 😉 At the time, I was shocked and horrified that I was getting grey hair. I mean I hadn’t even reached my quarter life crisis yet! Apparently that is a real thing now and supposedly I went through it too. lol Thankfully because of my natural hair colour, it isn’t obvious that I have grey hairs unless you look closely. I slowly got used to it and accepted it. Sort of. I discovered hair colour which has been quite fun so I suppose I haven’t entirely accepted it if I am covering it up. Recently however, I had let my natural colour grow out mainly because I haven’t had a chance to colour it. I didn’t really care that my grey hair was visible and I enjoyed not having to worry about the roots being a different colour. Anyways, someone in my family (that will remain nameless) noticed how much grey hair I have now and they have been bugging me to colour my hair again. Maybe they just miss my hair being a different colour though. I got tired of them saying I should colour my hair so I did. I went really drastic. I thought that should satisfy them. It did. I am not doing it to please anyone, I just got tired of listening to the suggestions and it is fun for me to go different colours. For about a week though, I got a bit of a shock each time I looked in the mirror. lol

I have to admit I actually don’t know the normal age to start getting grey hair. I don’t know when women start colouring their hair out of necessity rather than for fun. I am bombarded with messages in the media that I am supposed to colour my hair to cover the grey hair. But why? Why is it so important to hide grey hair? I am not against colouring hair. I find it fun and I do it myself. But why are we colouring our hair to cover up the grey hair? I need to say here that I don’t think it is wrong to cover grey hair if you want to. I am not saying people shouldn’t. Feel free to do what you want to do. I won’t judge. I am just wondering why we want to cover the grey hair. I am curious. Is it the pressure to do it? Because I know there is a lot of pressure to do it and to look a certain way (don’t get me started on the whole thigh gap thing and all the other things the media bombards girls with about how we should look). Are we ashamed of looking older? Do we think grey hair looks bad? Do we even know the reason we do things sometimes? Is it one of those things that you just do because everyone else does it? Is it something we do for ourselves so we feel better about ourselves? I know I do it because I get bored with the same colour and I make subtle changes every time. But in some ways I feel I should be covering the grey hair as well. So if anyone reads this and has thoughts or opinions to share, I would love to hear them. 🙂 Thanks as well for reading my blog. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 10, 2014 in Randomness

 

Leave a Reply

 
