RSS

Gratitude Challenge Extended: Week 9

03 Oct

Hello again,

“Gratitude as the gospel speaks about it embraces ALL of life: the good and the bad, the joyful and the painful, the Holy and not so Holy.” Henri Nouwen. This is a quote I came across this week that really made me stop and think about gratitude and what it means. I came across it in a book I borrowed from the library and I am reading titled “The Essential Henri Nouwen”. Another quote in the same chapter that also caught my attention is this: “Jesus calls us to recognize that gladness and sadness are never separate, that joy and sorrow really belong together and that mourning and dancing are part of the same movement. That is why Jesus calls us to be grateful for every moment that we have lived and to claim our unique journey as God’s way to mold our hearts to greater conformity with God’s own.” I don’t know about you, but for me, it is very difficult to be grateful for everything. I feel that maybe I need to try to be more grateful for everything that happens – both good and bad. Although I am definitely struggling to find a reason to be thankful for not so positive things like my sprained knee that is still causing problems 7 weeks later. But I will try. 🙂 Anyways here is my list for this week. 🙂

1. Getting an appointment to see my physio therapist really quick. I was able to get in for an appointment just a couple of days after calling, which I wasn’t expecting. Usually it takes about a week to get in. Now I can hopefully start seeing improvement in my knee sooner than if I had to wait till next week to start with physio.

2. Reaching my 90th post on my blog. I feel this is a bit of an accomplishment. 🙂

3. The wood stove. 🙂 It got down to -6 last night and I was so thankful for the wood stove!!

4. I live in Canada. With everything going on in different parts of the world (i.e- Isis, Ebola, etc), it reminds me how privileged we are to live here. We have freedom, a good healthcare system and so much more.

5. Cold weather. Cold weather reminds me how wonderful heat is and how much I love the warmth of hot summer days. Because I know what cold is, I can also understand how good heat is. Without cold, we wouldn’t have anything to compare warmth with and it wouldn’t feel as wonderful. 🙂 But I think I am even more grateful that we didn’t have any snow this week and it was just cold! 🙂

Thanks for reading my blog post!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
