RSS

My Review of Canadian Tire Auto Service

10 Dec

Hello again,

After my experience with Canadian Tire, I really felt the need to share how I was treated but I didn’t want to just post a rant about it. No one likes reading rants. At least I don’t think so. So I feel it is better if I keep my cool and share this experience as a review instead. As you may have already figured out, I am far from happy. I would like to share now why I am quite unsatisfied with the Canadian Tire service I received.

I have researched winter tires and different stores that offer them for quite a while now. I wanted to choose the right place to buy them from and not end up paying more than I should or have a bad experience. Although I guess research should include reviews of the store as well which I didn’t think about doing sadly. I found that Canadian Tire offered sales on good tires and had a payment plan that I could pay for the tires over 18 months. I liked that. Overall, most places were about the same price and I thought Canadian TIre would be a good place to go. The payment plan was what drew me to Canadian Tire in the end because buying tires isn’t cheap by any means and I don’t have a lot of money to spare.

So I walked in to Canadian Tire on November 8th of this year to order them. They had a 20x points event that day which is why I went then. I was pretty clueless about tires and what was best. So I asked some questions and I had to run out to my car a couple of times to check things for them like what number was on the side of the tires. I wanted rims with my tires so they could be switched a lot easier each time and it is also much cheaper to do because you can do it yourself. Apparently, they had run out of rims so they had to order some in for me. I asked how long it would take and was told usually around 4 business days. I thought that wasn’t too bad and ordered them. Had I known it would take over a month to get them, I would have gone with someone else right then and there. Yes. Over a month. I had to prepay for the rims so I did get around 20.00 in points or Canadian Tire money as it is called.

I waited patiently for the first week and expected a call of some kind in the week that followed. No call came. So almost 2 weeks after I had initially gone in there, I tried calling to see what was happening. I was told that they had rims coming on the truck and I would get a call the next day. Well that wasn’t too bad I thought. I never got a call the next day. Or any time in the next week either. I had very little patience by this point. 3 weeks and still no winter tires. I tried calling again 3 weeks after I had ordered the tires. This time, I waited on hold for probably 10 minutes before finally hanging up. I had better things to do with my time. My dad offered to stop by there the next day and I was all for it. My dad gets results. 🙂 Although he didn’t have much luck either and told me just to cancel the order. After all, I had back surgery the next week and I couldn’t really wait any longer. But my back surgery was canceled unfortunately so I gave them a little more time. I called again on December 6th to cancel my order and get my money back but I apparently couldn’t do that over the phone.

On December 8th (monday of this week), I walked in to the store and told them I was canceling my entire order. I wasn’t waiting around any longer. This is ridiculous. He tried to get me to put the winter tires on my current rims and I was completely against that because it is quite expensive each time and I don’t want them touching or messing with my good rims. I have heard stuff about Canadian Tire in the mean time and I don’t want to take any chances. I got quite mad and really let the guy know that either I get my rims and my tires or I will cancel my order and there is no way I am taking anything else or paying extra money to have tires switched on my one set of rims. After letting him know this, he conveniently remembered that a shipment of 11 rims came in a few days earlier. Funny how he didn’t remember that before I threatened to walk out. I wish I had threatened to go elsewhere sooner. Maybe I would have had winter tires sooner. It is funny how getting frustrated and raising your voice a bit can help people to remember items that are in the back. He obviously needed the help as well since he couldn’t remember about the rims that he had before I let him know I was serious about wanting my money back to go elsewhere.

Today I actually discovered a website called canadiantiresucks.ca and basically laughed that people hate the store so much that there is a site dedicated to how much it sucks. There is a section specifically for the auto service centre. I wish I had found that before going there. My dad told me already awhile ago never to let Canadian tire do any work on my vehicle but I didn’t know the service for buying rims was so bad too. I urge everyone who reads this to consider going elsewhere for tires and auto service if you don’t already. I tried to email Canadian Tire as well about what was going on and that proved to be pointless as well. Do not go there. Just because it is called Canadian TIRE doesn’t mean they are a good choice for tires. If you want more reasons to avoid the store, just go to the website I shared. I will gladly pay a bit more if it means I will receive better service in the future.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 10, 2014 in Review

 

Leave a Reply

 
